Alabama is a state located in the southern region of the United States of America.  Alabama ranks 30th in total land area and ranks second in the size of its inland waterways.

Alabama is 330 miles long and 190 miles wide at its most distant points. It covers 52,423 square miles, making it the 30th largest of the 50 states.  Alabama's land consists of 22 million acres of forest or 67% of total land area.
Alabama currently has sixty-seven counties.  Suburban Baldwin County, along the Gulf Coast, is the largest county in the state in both land area and water area.  The oldest county, Washington, was created on June 4, 1800, when what is now Alabama was then part of the Mississippi Territory.  The newest county is Houston, created on February 9, 1903.
Baldwin County, AL
Bay County, FL
Butler County, AL
Covington County, AL
Escambia County, AL
Geneva County, AL
Greene County, AL
Jackson County, MS
Jefferson City, AL
Lowndes County, AL
Marengo County, AL
Mobile County, AL
Monroe County, AL
Pickens County, AL
Tuscaloosa County, AL
Washington County, AL
Wilcox County, AL