Covington County was created on 1821 Dec. 17. Its boundaries were rearranged in 1824, 1841 and 1868. It was named for Brig. Gen. Leonard Wailes Covington, a soldier in the War of 1812 (Maryland). In 1868 Aug., the name was changed to Jones County, though the original name was restored in 1868 Oct. The county is located in the south-central part of the state, bordering Florida on the South. It presently comprises 1,038 square miles. The southwestern portion of the county contains the Conecuh National Forest.

Covington County is a place with quiet, safe and friendly communities where you can enjoy a relaxed lifestyle.  It offers you boating, fishing, swimming and/or skiing pleasures on six beautiful lakes, sports activities at three large recreation complexes, hunting in two large wildlife management areas and opportunities to become involved in civic, religious and cultural events.

Learn More About Covington County

Visit Covington County